Arrested for DUI/DWI in Snohomish County?
Talk with a criminal DUI attorney today!

(425) 953-4337

Over 20 years of experience successfully fighting DUI cases.

Need help fast?
Call for a FREE consultation:

(425) 953-4337
Call for your FREE consultation: (425) 953-4337
Washington DUI Laws

Washington DUI Laws

Email us. We’re here to help.

8 + 8 =

Click to Call

Washington’s DUI laws are punishing and unforgiving.

Washington State’s DUI and physical control laws are tough, but our DUI lawyers are here to help. If you are convicted of drunk driving, you are facing mandatory jail and a lengthy license suspension. You will also be required to obtain an alcohol evaluation and follow any treatment recommendations. According to Washington State DUI law, if this is your second offense or greater, you are looking a minimum of the 30 to 45 days in jail and a multi-year license revocation.

Even if this is your first offense, you will also be required to attend a victim impact panel and have an ignition interlock device (“Blow and go” device) put into your car for a period of at least one year from the date that your license is eligible for reinstatement. In addition to steep fines, costs, and assessments if you are convicted, you are also looking at a dramatic increase in your insurance premiums. You will also be placed on probation for five years.

All Everett and Snohomish County DUI and physical control cases are governed by state statute, as codified in the Revised Code of Washington. Washington’s primary DUI state can be found at RCW 46.61.502. In addition to state statute, all Snohomish County DUI and physical control cases are also governed by the procedural and the technical requirements of the relevant portions of the Washington Administrative Code (the “WAC”.).

The primary DUI and physical control statutes come into play for a vast majority of Snohomish County DUI cases. You will also find a separate page on this website, entitled “Washington DUI Penalties”, which summarizes Washington State’s DUI and physical control criminal penalties.

Washington State drunk driving laws are complicated – we can help you understand them.

Washington State DUI laws explain the details of each Everett drunk driving crime, and the punishments meted out to those who are convicted. Each DUI charge requires a different defense strategy, underscoring why grasping Washington DUI law is so important.

The following is an example: While the same mandatory and discretionary penalties apply to a regular Everett DUI and a “physical control” DUI violation, the law outlines them as two very distinct crimes. Also consider the difference between a regular DUI and a Everett minor DUI: These are not only defined as two distinct offenses, but they also incur far different penalties.

Washington State drunk driving laws are obviously confusing to anyone that doesn’t work directly with the law, so if you’ve been charged with a Washington drunk driving crime you need to talk to a knowledgeable Everett DUI attorney and start getting some answers.

Is your goal is to minimize the penalties associated with your WA drunk driving offense or to keep a felony off your record? If so, then there is little doubt that an experienced Everett attorney will give you the best chance of resolving your case.

With decades of combined experience, our Everett DUI lawyers will help you get a grasp on Washington DUI law BEFORE taking the next step.

First Offense, Second Offense, Third Offense, Fourth Offense… Get the clarification you need on Washington State DUI laws.

Most everyone understands the phrase “Driving Under the Influence,” which we call a “DUI.” However, few have an in-depth understanding of the laws that fall under that legal umbrella, but are applied to various offenses (first offense, second, third, fourth, etc.). Washington DUI law is detailed and explicit, but this simple overview will give you a better idea of the basic facts for each crime or offense.

  • DUI – This is the most common Everett drunk driving violation, and most people have a pretty good idea of what it means. If you are arrested for driving in Everett with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, then you could be arrested and convicted for a DUI in Washington.
  • Physical control violation – This is a non-driving crime, according to Washington State DUI law. This means that you can be charged for a physical control violation if you are located anywhere inside of, or outside of, the vehicle. This includes the passenger’s seat and backseat.
  • Minor DUI – Washington law states that if you are under 21 years of age, and you are driving with a BAC that is .02 or higher, then you could be charged with this often life-altering crime. A conviction imposes both mandatory and discretionary penalties that should never be underestimated.
  • Marijuana DUI – The penalties for this crime are very similar to a regular DUI, so if you are caught with .05 nanograms of THC in your bloodstream, you could find yourself in a lot of trouble.
  • Hit and run – This is one of the most serious crimes a person can commit, especially if a person was injured or killed. Before taking any action you should talk to qualified attorney.
  • Reckless driving – Washington State has some of the most severe traffic and DUI laws in the United States, and an Everett reckless driving charge no different.
  • Negligent driving – Being found guilty of this charge can lead to a great deal of hassle and expense, so you should never ignore a negligent driving charge in Washington State.
  • Racing – Two vehicles engaged in a relative contest of speed are considered to be drag racing, and this is how the law is written. This severe crime is very similar to a reckless driving charge in Everett, and the penalties can be devastating for many individuals.
Work to avoid a felony being put on your record – start building an aggressive defense based on Washington law.

If you’ve been charged with an Everett DUI, your defense must be built around the constructs of Washington law. This is because the Washington court only hears arguments based on legal footing. There is little time to act after an arrest because you must be ready with your defense BEFORE the date of your department of licensing hearing.

If you’re facing any type of DUI charge, you need to act quickly and avoid the mistake of inaction. Take a proactive stance by contacting one of our Everett DUI attorneys right away, and they will help you understand how Washington State DUI law applies to your circumstances and do everything within their legal means to keep a felony of your record.

Contact our Everett, WA criminal attorneys for a FREE consultation.

We offer a free consultation to every potential client which is a risk-free way for you to get more information about Washington drunk driving law without any commitment . If you decide to work with one of our experienced Everett DUI lawyers, they will get to work on a defense strategy that is based on Washington DUI law. By utilizing their vast experience with Washington DUI law, they will attempt to minimize the penalties associated with your particular crime.

Contact a drunk driving lawyer.
Contact a drunk driving lawyer.
Contact a drunk driving lawyer.

FREE consultation – call today!

Washington State’s DUI laws are very complex. Our attorneys have decades of experience. Over 500 driving crimes handled. Get real answers today!
Contact